What I learned this issue – Tiffany Castro

Having only been my third piece of writing that I’ve ever done in journalism, I think I had come to develop this idea that the story would write itself.

This issue, I was able to get great interviews, yet I didn’t really have a stance that was really evident to me from the beginning. I started writing and hit a brick wall. The ledes in my previous work were the first thing I wrote after getting interviews before, and on this one, it felt like I could write the whole thing and still not come up with a sentence that was interesting enough to make someone read it.

I think I sat down for nealry 45 minutes trying to make something work, and I’m still not entirely pleased with the outcome. I learned that I’m not always going to like what I write, but I shouldn’t give up on it completely if it’s a worthwhile story.

Leave a Reply

