A Final Farewell

Wow! It’s hard to believe that the fourth issue of The Scribe is nearly here already. It seems as if I just started this journey through Journalism yesterday, but I have learned so much about writing, technology, and myself along the way.

I absolutely love writing, and that is one thing that has remained constant throughout my life. However, being a reporter for The Scribe really helped me step outside of my comfort zone by tackling a style of writing I had never attempted before. My writing has most definitely improved since the beginning of the semester, and I look forward to putting my newfound skills to the test by continuing to nurture and evolve them through other endeavors.

I don’t feel I have much to say about technology at this point that won’t be horribly redundant to all of my previous posts. Adobe is evil. Yes, I did just type that, and I have absolutely no regrets in doing so. I may be far more comfortable and competent in using the program now. However, that doesn’t change the fact that it is a slick program plucked from the depths of Hades to drive anyone who attempts to uncover its secrets completely insane.

I really do feel like a new person now, but that isn’t necessarily due entirely to this course.

 Throughout this semester, I have truly learned so much about myself, and I have to say that I am eternally grateful to Professor Sheppard and The Scribe for providing an outlet through which I felt compelled to affect change and spread awareness.

For example, putting this last article together in such limited time really allowed me to gain confidence in myself, and it also encouraged me to research more of the pros and cons of being an INTJ. The short version of this story is Plan A didn’t work, but Plan B did despite the fact I only had four days to draft the story and finalize everything.

The moral of the story: always have a back-up plan or five if you’re slightly crazy much like myself. A bit of faith, trust, and pixie dust never hurt either.

Lastly, to wrap up this incredibly lengthy blog post, I would just like to thank everyone who has been there for me during this crazy time in my life. Naturally, I am thanking Professor Sheppard, Melissa, Jorge, Haylee, Alex, Jorge, Lynzie, Tia, and Carl for making every class exciting and memorable. I feel I’ve made some fantastic friends in my time here, and I certainly hope that we will keep in touch after this semester.

I also want to thank the people who most likely will never see this post though: the people I’ve interviewed or the people who have helped me arrange interviews. I truly could not have done my job without these people, and I’m pleased to say that I have become friends with some of the individuals I’ve interviewed after the fact.

This course has really helped me blossom as a person, and I am excited to see where this change leads me.

This isn’t goodbye though. In fact, it isn’t even the end; it is merely the beginning. Keep your eyes open because you never know when or where you may see my name next.

-Jordan Donohue

Leave a Reply

