Life Goes On…

Life Goes On…

Wow, I can’t believe that it’s almost time for the second issue of the Seminole Scribe to come out.

I have continued to trudge along the long, winding road that is the yellow brick road to becoming a better journalist. Unfortunately, much like life itself, the journey is not always the smooth and enjoyable trip we imagine it to be.

I fear I have made more mistakes than I would ever care to admit to with this second issue. I had an excellent story but fell frightfully ill during design week, and thanks to the shady reliability of technology I found I could not communicate as quickly or clearly as I intended to with some of my team.

However, that’s more than enough of the negatives. Despite all of my shortcomings this time around, I have become more confident as an interviewer, and I have been inspired to become more involved with activities being held on campus. I have met so many new people many of whom I have become friends with. It is so inspiring to hear stories from individuals I may not have spoken with otherwise.

I am slowly but surely getting the hang of InDesign, or, at the very least, I do not need to be constantly reminded of the countless uses of the “black arrow.” I’m confident that I will only get better and stronger in all aspects of publishing the paper.

At the end of the day, I don’t think I ever quite anticipated the sheer volume of pressure being a reporter would put me under.

Yes, I’ve made mistakes, and no one could ever possibly be harder on me for that than I am myself. I put myself and my issues before my job as a reporter, and there are individuals who would, most likely, crucify me for that decision, but I have no regrets about my decision to do so. As a journalist that was the wrong decision; I freely admit that. However, as a college student and human being, it was the best decision I could make.

I may not be faring as well as I would like to, but I am getting better each day. I know doing this next issue is going to be notoriously difficult for me, and I know that the odds are just stacking up higher against me every moment. But, I know I will defy those who dare think I can’t do this and prove them all wrong.

If there is one thing I’ve learned about myself over the years it is this: Whenever it seems as if I’m down for the count, I only come back stronger than ever.

-Jordan D.

Leave a Reply

