FL Medical Marijuana Amendment, Yay or Nay?

By: Haylee Moffis

Going into the Civic Dialogue meeting, I was a little on the fence about this amendment being passed.  I figured, if it’s helps people who are sick feel better and it’s something the earth provides, then go for it! But I’m glad I attended this gathering, because my mind was completely changed.

The fact that medical marijuana is already available to sick patients, and people who truly need it are already using it for health reasons, makes me believe this bill is just one step further into getting recreational use of marijuana passed.

The Cannabis Oil itself, which is the part of marijuana used for health ailments, is already available to the public. Why should the smoking form of marijuana be made legal? It is known to damage the brain, heart, lungs and immune system.  Three to four Cannabis cigarettes a day are the equivalent to 20 or more tobacco cigarettes a day.  How is that going to help cancer patients? In my opinion, this bill is not intended to help the sick, it is intended to open the doors to recreational marijuana getting passed in the future.

I vote nay.

Leave a Reply

